First Bank Win’s CBN Football Cup

The oldest bank in the country, First Bank Football Club of Lagos over the weekend defeated Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) of Abuja 4-2 to win the 32nd edition of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) All Nigeria Financial Institutions Football competition.

For winning the final match played at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Ibadan, First Bank too the giant trophy and the N2 million star prize, while SEC Abuja got N1.5 million and the runners-up trophy.

The final match, watched by stakeholders in Nigerian football, including some former internationals led by former midfield maestro, Mutiu Adepoju, ended 1-1 at regulation time before a penalty shootout was used to separate the two teams.

Speaking at the occasion, CBN Governor, Godwin Emefiele commended all the teams in this year’s exercise and stressed that the championship was one of the foremost and oldest corporate responsibility functions of the apex bank.

Emefiele, who was represented by the Controller of the CBN Ibadan branch, Mrs. Ajuwa Modojemu reiterated the apex bank’s commitment in making positive contributions towards the promotion and development of football in the country.

He lauded the increase in the number of financial institutions in this year’s competition and urged other institutions yet to register to do so immediately in order to be captured in next year’s edition of the championship.

Emefiele thanked the Oyo State government for making the Lekan Salami Stadium available for the final and the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) for mobilizing the teams and ensuring a hitch free exercise.

In the third place match, Azabe Zinariya MFB FC trashed Balogun Fulani MFB 6-2 to win the third place match and the N1 million third place prize, while Balogun Fulani got N500, 000 for finishing fourth.